08 Aug

Scam of the Month: What we can learn from targeted Netflix accounts

Recently, Netflix users received a notification prompting them to update their credit card information in order to use their Netflix accounts. The notification appeared when users tried to use their account, reading their account was temporarily suspended due to not updating payment information. For most, updating the information was something they wouldn’t think twice about and entered their payment information, for others who are more cautious, they hesitated to do so without further investigation. Turns out Netflix did in fact send this message out, and it was not a phishing attack. But all too often we see our personal accounts targeted through phishing attacks.

With most phishing attacks the goal is to get the targeted victim to enter their personal information, passwords, payment information and more. At first glances, we’ve seen many phishing attacks through Netflix that do look authentic to the point that they will include the correct logos, colors, typography, and even the customers real service number at the bottom of a notification/email to show it is coming from Netflix. This is just another tactic used to trick the victim into providing their personal and financial information.

With Emails becoming more difficult to determine if they are real or not, we have compiled a few tips to keep in mind when dealing with notifications requesting personal and financial information:

  • Take a look at the email address the notification came from
    • After hovering over the email domain, if the domain looks lengthy including symbols and many numbers than you can most likely assume it is fake
  • Review who the email was addressed to
    • For example, if the name associated with the account is Susan Dodge and the email received states sdodge, there is a high chance that it’s a scam
  • Read the content in the email
    • If the content states that they were informed through itunes about a membership request you can safely assume that itunes has nothing to do with Netflix and therefore is fraudulent
  • Lastly, in the Netflix case, recognize that Netflix will never cancel your account with one day notice.
    • On the Netflix Help Page, it states when you cancel your account you can in deed continue to watch Netflix until your account automatically closes at the end of your current billing period

At CHIPS, we always encourage you to review any notifications you receive that are requesting personal and financial information with the above mentioned tips. With phishing scams becoming more sophisticated we rather be safe than sorry. If you are unsure about a received notification asking for personal or financial information feel free to reach out to us and we’ll be happy to look into this.

Share this